Ed. 4764 – Audio Files

I have a great love for music, and have been using audio as a teacher quite regularly. Especially in my last practicum, when I was teaching grade 6 music, I started every class with a song playing at the start of every class. As students entered the room, they would immediately be exposed to different genres of music and we would begin class by discussing what they thought of the music I had selected.

I also would use music for a number of drama games that were important for learning how to control ones movements, and similar to my music class, I would sometimes play music for my drama students to expose them to songs they might not typically seek out. One of my favourite assignments I had my drama 6 students do was a lip-sync that required my students to come up with an accompanying dance, while lip-syncing a song of their choice, in groups of 4-5. I saw many great performances, and I was especially impressed to see some fairly complicated choreography used by a couple groups.

It was great to see some articles that pertained to using Audacity and Garageband, especially because I have been learning about both of those programs in Ed. 4765 (New Media and Education). I think both of those programs offer a great deal of possibilities for use in the classroom and should be utilized whenever possible. The only thing unfortunate about Garageband is the fact it is only available for Mac computers, and I use a PC. However, there are other similar tools out there, like Sony Acid Pro, which could be used for educational purposes, although that particular program may be a bit too advanced for some students.

The relative ease of using Garageband definitely makes it a great addition in the classroom, and there are many possibilities for its use, such as creating a song from scratch, or making a mash-up. (Click here to hear my first attempt at a mash-up for my Ed. 4765 class. Not the greatest but it was my first try!^_^) I think it is awesome that students can access this kind of software and be able to experiment with creating sounds in such an easy way. Especially for those students who might not have access to instruments, this program gives them another access point into making music.

Audacity is also great for recording, and I have been thinking about the numerous possibilities I could incorporate the program in the drama classroom, such as recording original SFX, voice for animations, or voice for radio plays. It can also be used in similar ways for other classes, such as recording a students voice reading a story, etc. I especially like the idea of using the two programs in conjunction with one another, since you can take care of creating/editing a sound in Audacity, to be further used in Garageband.

In closing, I leave this video of a mash up done right:

Leave a Reply

